Announcing the 2017 Glass Buffalo Writing Contest Shortlists

This year, Glass Buffalo welcomed submissions from writers across Canada in search of the best poem and piece of short fiction in English. After receiving many incredible entries, we’re very excited to announce the shortlists for our Short Fiction Prize and Poetry Prize!

The short fiction entries were judged by Heather O’Neill, who’s been twice shortlisted for the Giller Prize for her books, The Girl Who Was Saturday Night and Daydreams of Angels. And the poetry entries were judged by Kayla Czaga, winner of the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award and a nominee for the Governor General’s Award for her collection, For Your Safety Please Hold OnLearn more about the contests and judges here.

Here are the writers and their work chosen by our judges:

Glass Buffalo Short Fiction Prize ($500 sponsored by Priority Printing)
Elizabeth Ball, “Poverty Hill”
Sarah Bennett, “Wanting”
Michelle Kelm, “Carnival”

Glass Buffalo Poetry Prize ($500 sponsored by Glass Buffalo Publishing)
Chelsea Comeau, “Downtown Victoria, Summer” & “Rocket Pops”
Jessica Johns, “Can you imagine my love for banana facts?”

The winners of the prizes will be announced at our Fall 2017 issue launch on Wednesday, September 27, at Yellowhead Brewery. For more information on the event and to buy your tickets now, visit our Eventbrite page.